COMING TOGETHER TO CELEBRATE THE 2020 COE STUDENTS AND FACULTY

The 25th year of COE classes ended Friday, June 26th. To celebrate the 2020 students and faculty, MPC hosted a virtual Graduation and Awards Party. With over 60 participants, the virtual party brought together 2020 COE students and their families, faculty members, past COE participants, and MPC sponsors for an awards ceremony, graduation, COE Poultry Trivia competition, a team scavenger hunt, and an opportunity to "mix and mingle".

The Yolkster Award is given to the "class clown", as voted by the 2020 COE students. Mike Banks, the 2006 Yolkster Award recipient, presented the 2020 award. Liliana Rodriguez from University of Florida - Gainesville won the award for the Summer Session I class; Keaton Gibbs from University of Missouri won the award for the Summer Session II class.

The Egg Head Award is given to the most intelligent student, as voted by the COE 2020 students. Jonathan Suwarna, the 2019 Egg Head Award recipient, presented the 2020 award. Reid Anema of South Dakota State University won the award for the Summer Session I class; Michael Carroll of the University of Minnesota won the award for the Summer Session II class.

The Ducks in a Row Award is given to the student most dedicated to the poultry industry, as voted by the 2020 students. Valeria Johnson, the 2016 Ducks in a Row recipient, presented the 2020 award. Adam Ripplinger of North Dakota State University won the award for the Summer Session I class; Grace Taylor of the University of Minnesota won the award for the Summer Session II class.

Zachary Simons, a 2017 COE graduate and MPC board member, presented the 2020 *Mark Cook Pullet-zer Prize* awards. The award, renamed in honor of perennial *Pullet-zer Prize* winner and distinguished University of Wisconsin-Madison faculty member Dr. Mark Cook, went to Dr. Michael Cressman of The Ohio State University for Summer Session I and to Dr. Carl Parsons of the University of Illinois for Summer Session II. Each student can vote for one faculty member who went above and beyond in their efforts to connect with and educate students at the 2020 COE. Runners-up for the *Pullet-zer Prize* were Dr. Dawn Koltes of Iowa State University (SSI) and Dr. Anup Johny, University of Minnesota (SSII).

Prizes for the COE Graduation and Awards Party were donated by: Aviagen, Cooper Farms, Henning Companies, Hy-Line North America, Jennie-O Turkey Store, Pilgrim's, Purina, and Rose Acre Farms.

Diplomas were presented by COE Onsite Coordinator Dr. Elizabeth Bobeck recognizing 2020 graduates. These students completed all six COE courses, earning 18 credits and their poultry science emphasis. 2020 COE graduates were: Michael Carroll, *University of Minnesota*; Keaton Gibbs, *University of Missouri*; Kaitlyn Hermansen, *University of Wisconsin-River Falls*; Ashley Kuhlman, *Purdue University*; Jessica Murawski, *Michigan State University*; Madisyn Murphy, *Purdue University*; Arianna Nasserjah, *Iowa State University*; Jordyn Samper, *Purdue University*; and Caitlyn Spencer, *Iowa State University*. Congratulations COE graduates!

